Four Loves

Did you know there are 4 loves? Four ways on giving and receiving love.

CS Lewis, perhaps best known for the The Chronicles of Narnia, wrote a dandy little book in 1960 called The Four Loves. In it he explains them very nicely. Regardless whether you are a student or a teacher of love its worth taking the words of this book to heart. Here is a summary and the link below features an audio clip from one of my presentations for those who like to listen.

Storge is fondness through familiarity, especially between family members or people who have otherwise found themselves together by chance. It is described as the most natural, emotive, and widely diffused of loves.

Philia is a strong bond existing between people who share a common interest or activity.

Eros is love in the sense of ‘being in love’.

Agapē is an unconditional love directed towards one’s neighbor which is not dependent on any lovable qualities that the object of love possesses. Agape is the love that brings forth caring regardless of circumstance.

The Book “The Four Loves”

Listen to My 5 min Talk on the Four Loves


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: